BSA M33 oil ways

Got a question related to British Bikes - Triumph, BSA, Norton, Velocette, Greeves, James, Scott, AJS etc. If you need a category adding just email us, info@classic-motorbikes.net.

BSA M33 oil ways

Postby Albertorondm » Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:53 pm

Hi
I'm new to the british bike scene and have purchased a BSA M33 ohv. The oil pump returns from the sump to the oil tank ok, but I'm questioning how much oil should be returning from the cylinder head. I have loosened the two banjo's that return oil from the rocker arms and also another return from the cylinder head, alas no oil seems to be coming out of them when I start the bike up. How can I tell if enough oil is getting to the top of the engine????
Cheers Albert
Albertorondm

Re: BSA M33 oil ways

Postby Welsh Wizard » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:17 am

If memory serves correct
the supply route should be

at the oil tank, where the oil returns there should be a banjo that takes some of the returning oil to the top of the head , this then goes into the ends of the rocker shaft.

after oiling the rocker shaft, the oil then goes down through the engine into the sump where it is scavenged by the pump and returned to the oil tank, most of the scavenged oil returns to the tank only a small amount every gets returned to the rocker shaft.

So you should not get much flow, but there should be some, so you will need to check if the rockers are covered with oil after you have had it running for a few minutes.
Welsh Wizard
Global Moderator

Postby fido » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:58 am

Yes, the banjos on the rockers are supplying oil, not returning it. I wonder if the copper pipe is blocked? You could take it off and flush it through with paraffin. As it is on the return part of the main circuit there is not enough pressure there to clear any blockage.
fido

Postby Tman » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:20 pm